Vespa in Trastevere, Rome, Italy
Europe, Italy, Places to Visit in Italy, Read About Can't Miss Places, Rome

Rome Sightseeing: Best Rome Tours, Vatican Tours, & Day Trips from Rome

I’ve found tours to be a great way to explore a city—as long as the guide is knowledgeable, experienced, and passionate. The Tour Guy guides are all of the above. As a history professor with almost two decades of teaching experience, I know the deepest level of learning occurs when the person conveying the message is enthusiastic and impassioned. Every Tour Guy guide I’ve roamed with has shown a true love for their city’s sites that made sightseeing memorable, fun, and educational. Plus, it’s just cool to spend time with a local!

Rome is an open-air museum. History comes alive around every corner. A tour guide can help you navigate the Eternal City. Some of the following tours offer historical adventures with guides to help you make sense of the archaeological ruins around every corner, while others give you the opportunity to experience Roman food culture or its famous sightseeing. Check them out!

Rome in a Day Tours

Rome in a Day with Colosseum and Vatican Museums: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/rome-in-a-day-tour?partner=2

Privileged Entrance Colosseum with Rome Walking Tour: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/colosseum-city-walking-tour?partner=2

Skip-the-Line Vatican Tour with Local Trastevere Food Tour: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/skip-the-line-vatican-tour-trastevere-food-tour-combo?partner=2

Colosseum Arena Floor with Trastevere Local Food Tour: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/arena-floor-food-tour?partner=2

Colosseum, Roman Forum, and/or Palatine Hill Tours

Special Access Colosseum Arena Floor through Gladiator’s Gate: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/colosseum-tour-arena-floor?partner=2

Colosseum Underground Tour with Roman Forum and Palatine Hill: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/colosseum-dungeons-tour-with-roman-forum-palantine-hill?partner=2

Privileged Colosseum Tour with Roman Forum and Palatine Hill: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/complete-colosseum-tour?partner=2

VIP Colosseum at Night Tour with Underground and Arena Floor: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/colosseum-night-tour-underground?partner=2

Colosseum Underground plus Belvedere Top Level Tour: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/colosseum-underground-plus-belvedere?partner=2

Vatican Tours and Vatican City Tours

Skip-the-Line Vatican Tour with Sistine Chapel: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/skip-the-line-vatican-and-sistine-chapel-tour?partner=2

Privileged Entrance Vatican Tour with Sistine Chapel: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/sistine-chapel-vatican-tour?partner=2

Complete Vatican Combo Tour with Sistine Chapel and Dome Climb: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/st-peters-dome-climb-plus-vatican-tour?partner=2

Vatican in a Day with Sistine Chapel: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/complete-skip-the-line-vatican-tour?partner=2

Vatican Highlights with Sistine Chapel: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/vatican-sistine-chapel-express-small-tour?partner=2

Vatican Night Tour with Sistine Chapel: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/vatican-museums-evening-tour?partner=2

Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/vatican-museums-tickets?partner=2

History of Christianity Tour with Sistine Chapel, Vatican, and Catacombs: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/vatican-tour-rome-catacombs?partner=2

St. Peter’s Basilica Dome Climb and Tour with Papal Crypts: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/st-peters-dome-climb?partner=2

Vatican Highlights with Rome Walking Tour: https://thetourguy.com/tours/vatican/vatican-highlights-rome-walking-tour?partner=2

Other Rome Sightseeing

Rome Catacombs Tour with Capuchin Crypts: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/catacombs-bone-crypts-tour?partner=2

Ancient Rome Tour with Colosseum Arena Floor and Catacombs: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/rome-catacombs-arena-floor-colosseum-tour?partner=2

VIP Rome Catacombs Night Tour with Capuchin Crypts: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/rome-catacombs-at-night-tour?partner=2

The Borghese Gallery “Storytellers”  Private Tour: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/rome-borghese-gallery-private-tour?partner=2

Food Tour Rome & Other Rome Tours

Trastevere Local Food Tour in Rome: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/trastevere-food-tour?partner=2

Rome Walking Tour with Pasta Making Class and Lunch: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/rome-walking-tour-with-pasta-making-class?partner=2

Half Day Electric Bike Tour of Rome: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/electric-bike-rome-tour-eco-friendly?partner=2

Basilicas of Rome Private Driving Tour: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/jubilee-churches-of-rome-private-tour?partner=2

Day Trips from Rome

Day Trip from Rome to Pompeii and Sorento: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/rome-to-pompeii-day-trip?partner=2

Sistine Chapel, Vatican Gardens and Castle Gandolfo Day Trip: https://thetourguy.com/tours/rome/vatican-to-castel-gandolfo-day-trip?partner=2

These are some of my favorites because I love a small group tour—meeting people on vacation is a favorite pastime of my husband and I. The Tour Guy also offers private tours of many of these options with additional private tours for day trips to Pompeii or Tivoli Gardens, city driving tours, walking tours around Roman neighborhoods like the Jewish Ghetto, and visits to museums like Capitoline Museums, Palazzo Barberini and more. If you’re interested in a private tour, let me know and I’ll get you a link for one of them. There is a base price plus ticket prices for each person, but you will have a special, individualized tour.

Any of these tours will allow you a special look into Rome’s culture, so I hope you enjoy them. Buon viaggio!

Check out our fabulous photographic prints on our Etsy shop for yourself or as a gift. All of the pictures above are available…if they aren’t listing just ask me.

Are you looking for a fun small-group tour in Europe or the United States? Roaming Historian is an affiliate of The Tour Guy. They offer unique experiences, small groups, special access, and exceptional guides. Use our affiliate link, Tour Guy, or visit our page dedicated to them to learn more about the Tour Guy.

Disclosure: Roaming Historian may derive revenue from affiliate links and other sources, which helps offset the costs of bringing you the information we do. The blogs and reviews posted on this website are of our own opinion though.

Leave a comment for the Roaming Historian

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.